hidden horse cave

I have been looking at a particular sandstone dome for over a month now, through binoculars. At the base of the dome sits a cave and for that month I have been wandering the climbing potential within the cave. I had also wondered why I had never heard much about the cave in any circumstance; let alone in regards to climbing.
On the internet climbing sites there a couple of gear protected climbs listed, but nothing about the cave.
Well I finally managed to get a couple people together to check this beast out.

With a limited amount of time and loose rock, we managed to do one climb- with the vision of Brian B. I managed to snag the FA of a classic warm-up-ish problem dubbed “Sea Urchin” V2/3? which seemed to be the only obvious line without a terrible landing..probably been done before, too. who knows.
The potential is fairly grand in the cave- i could see several bolted sport routes waiting- if one so desired to put in the time and effort..
The thing is: the hike to the cave is about a class 3 scramble for an hour and a half on steep terrain and loose rock. And then you have to go back. Definitely bring your stash of psych and be ready for a full day. Oh yeah, and water is good too.

I couldn’t really believe this cave was in Santa Barbara yet, on the other hand, I guess I knew this place was full of hidden surprises.

About rtylergross

I am a professional photographer with a Bachelor of Arts in Professional Photography from world renowned Brooks Institute. Please don't hesitate to contact me, leave comments, or inquire about any of my work! It is all for sale all the time and I look forward to helping you with the next project. Cheers

One comment

  1. i want

    HOLY DEUCE

Leave a Reply

