NIGHTSTALKERS | preview

On the last full moon I took my dog to the nature preserve (where I always let him run) at sunset when the moon was rising. I witnessed a spectacle of various birds of prey begin their evening’s hunt. I counted eight different owls of 2 breeds and several other species of hawk working these open pastures and grassy knolls.

Every evening that I have gone out since- I pay particular attention to the owls, and, although they have become less active (i’m only seeing three or so these days) they are still always on the prowl.

Here are a few images from my first evening bringing a camera to these owls. Taken with a Nikon D700 and 70-200 with 1.4 teleconverter at ISO 5000. All images captured in very low light between 1/80s-1/125s @ ƒ/4, and handheld with VR on. It is a challenge to get a decent image at that light level without using a flash (I didn’t want to distract from their hunting)- especially with owls flying over your head and around you at all times. But I am psyched on these and of course I’m going back for more.. but on the next full moon. enjoy!

About rtylergross

I am a professional photographer with a Bachelor of Arts in Professional Photography from world renowned Brooks Institute. Please don't hesitate to contact me, leave comments, or inquire about any of my work! It is all for sale all the time and I look forward to helping you with the next project. Cheers

One comment

  1. Nice ones bru! Like the silhoutte one a lot.

Leave a Reply

